Waiting On Wednesday: The Midnights by Sarah Nicole Smetana

Waiting On Wednesday: The Midnights by Sarah Nicole SmetanaThe Midnights by Sarah Nicole Smetana
Published by HarperTeen on March 6th2018
Genres: contemporary, YA
Buy on Amazon-Buy on Barnes & Nobles-Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads

This voice-driven coming-of-age YA novel is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Playlist for the Dead.

Susannah Hayes has never been in the spotlight, but she dreams of following her father, a former rock star, onto the stage. As senior year begins, she’s more interested in composing impressive chord progressions than college essays, certain that if she writes the perfect song, her father might finally look up from the past long enough to see her. But when he dies unexpectedly, her dreams—and her reality—shatter.

While Susannah struggles with grief, her mother uproots them to a new city. There, Susannah realizes she can reinvent herself however she wants: a confident singer-songwriter, member of a hip band, embraced by an effortlessly cool best friend. But Susannah is not the only one keeping secrets, and soon, harsh revelations threaten to unravel her life once again.

Set against the scintillating landscape of Southern California, The Midnights is an evocative coming-of-age debut about loss, creativity, and finding your voice while you’re still finding yourself.

Hello lovely and wonderful people😃 I hope you are all having an amazing and wonderful day ❤️

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine which spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating and for today we picked a book that since we first saw the cover and read the synopsis we immediately added it to our MUST READ BOOKS.

That book is *drum roll* The Midnights by Sarah Nicole Smetana 🌙 💫 ⭐️

We are huge fans of contemporary stories and when we first saw this book we immediately added it to our TBR. It sounds like a cute read PLUS THAT COVER!!! It’s stunning, we really can’t wait to read this book and meet Susannah Hayes! We love music too so the fact that the MC writes story and that her dad was a superstar made us want to read it even more!
What do you guys think? Are you planning to read it? What’s your favorite genre?
Let us know in the comments below, we can’t wait to hear your thoughts!
Rebeca xoxo

About Sarah Nicole Smetana

Sarah Nicole Smetana grew up in Orange, California, where she wrote songs, played in a few bands, and successfully pilfered all of her parents’ best vinyl records. She received her BFA in Creative Writing from Chapman University and her MFA in Fiction from The New School. Currently, she lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their three-legged cat.

Posted November 29, 2017 by Rebeca Gutierrez in Memes, WOW / 4 Comments

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Waiting On Wednesday: The Midnights by Sarah Nicole Smetana

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge